Showing posts with label biden. Show all posts
Showing posts with label biden. Show all posts

Friday, October 12, 2012

The Debates, Romney/Ryan 1.45 Obama/Biden .55


I am not going to be popular with this but I give Biden a slight win.  Yes, he acted like a jerk with all that smiling and interrupting, that is true.  It is also true that everything he said about Libya is a provable lie.   But, and this is a big but, the base was very demoralized after last week's truly poor performance by President Obama.  Biden's job was to come out swinging and keep swinging throughout.  He did that.

The truly undecided are not going to decide based on the VP debate unless they believe that the person selected isn't qualified to be POTUS, therefore all the pressure was on Congressman Ryan.  Many are still unclear of his record and don't know a great deal about him.  Sadly so many people don't pay much attention to politics.

Look Joe Biden said many things that are simply untrue.  Very few in the media or anyone that has really followed the story know that what he said about Libya is simply untrue.  He wisely tried to change the subject almost immediately, but it was too late.  That will hit every fact checker's list of whoppers.  Even Andrea Mitchell of MSDNC called him out on his falsehoods.  But again, the people who don't pay much attention are not going to read the fact checkers.  They vote based on sound bites.

The debate was pretty much a draw, the reason that I give Biden a slight edge is that he got his base excited again.

The problem is, with so few days left until election day if your goal is to excite your base, you are in trouble.

RNC Releases Ad on Biden Laughing His Way Through VP Debate - Video

This took less than two hours.  


Thursday, October 11, 2012

Chris Wallace of Fox News Sunday Reacts to VP Biden's Demeanor During VP Debate

Biden's laughing was very disrespectful, hard to deny that.  But, overall I would give a slight edge to Biden.  Ryan didn't do badly, he just wasn't aggressive enough.

Now, once the fact checking is all said and done Biden will lose the ground he gained.  Of course that only applies if they read that.

Monday, September 24, 2012

About those Values Mr. Vice President


This truly cannot be said enough so I decided to cover this information again.  Last month Vice President Biden made the following comment:
“And, by the way, I’ve been saying this for 30 years. And I’m glad to see that Congressman Ryan likes his dad, too, and quotes his dad. I mean that sincerely. But my dad [had] a lot of wisdom. Every time someone tells you, say, ‘Look, let me tell you what’s important to me, what I value.’ My dad would go, ‘No, no. Don’t tell me what you value. Show me your budget, and I will tell you what you value.’”
So lets take a look at The Vice President values charity:
     Adjusted
                    Gross Income              Charity
1998             $215,432                      $195
1999             $210,797                      $120
2000             $219,953                      $360
2001             $220,712                      $360
2002             $227,811                      $260
2003             $231,375                      $260
2004             $234,271                      $380
2005             $321,379                      $380
2006             $248,459                      $380
2007             $319,853                      $995
2008             $269,256                      $1885
2009             $333,182                      $4820
2010             $379,178                      $5350
2011             $379,035                      $5540
Total             $3,810,693                   $21,285  
For a grand total of .005%

The average for the Romney family is 13.45%. 

So what is that value Mr. Vice President?  It certainly isn't charitable giving.  

The Obama's were very stingy with charitable giving as well, that is until he decided to run for public office on the federal level.  They could afford a $2 million home, but not too much for charity.  I hope that his charitable giving stays at current levels or increases once he leaves the presidency, as he will be making millions and millions per year once he does.   

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Chains, Politics, Racism, & VP Biden


All the political chatter today is about Vice President Biden's remark
"put y'all back in chains"
But let's looks the entire quote in context
“Romney wants to, he said in the first 100 days, he's going to let the big banks once again write their own rules. Unchain Wall Street. They're going to put y’all back in chains,”
To me these look very different when taken in full context.  He was using a metaphor.  A poor one may be, but a metaphor just the same.

Much has been made of the fact that this took place in Danville, Va which is a city that has a population of almost 49% black.  This is what I find offensive.  If he had said this in a city that had a population that is say only 8% black it would have been different?  You can see from the pictures of the event that the crowd was diverse.
What I find so offensive is that what I am hearing in this uproar is that apparently we are supposed to change our language depending on who were are talking to.  Does that mean that I am supposed to create a blog for hispanic readers, another for whites, and yet another for blacks?  That I am supposed to change the language I use for the point I am trying to make depending on the skin color of the reader?  That is really offensive to me.
Is what he said stupid?  Of course it is.  But in full context it wasn't racist.

I do believe that Biden has some preconceived notions of things.  I think many will remember that he once made a comment about Indians and 7-11's.  The fact of the matter is that in the area that I live in you would be hard pressed to find a 7-11 that didn't have employees that are not of Indian descent.  What he said is true, at least in this area of the country.  That may not be true everywhere, but here it is.  So is that racism/bigotry?  No, it isn't.  Maybe it isn't polite to point it out, but that is about political correctness, not racism.

See I am no fan of how everything we say and do in this country has to fit into some preconceived notion of being politically correct.  Who is it that makes these rules?  Because we all know that they are different for different people.  Had Paul Ryan used the same words the likes of Roland Martin would be the first one to screaming and yelling it was indeed racist.  Whereas today he is saying that it isn't.  For once I actually agree with him that it was not a racist statement.

We need to get past all this PC nonsense and realize that using the metaphor of chains has nothing to do with slavery.  It is a commonly used metaphor that covers all kinds of things.  I am sick to death of everything being labeled "offensive" or "racist".  It is no more attractive when it comes from the right then when it comes from the left.

I dare anyone who disagrees with me on this to look me in the eye and tell me honestly that you wouldn't feel that had the exact same scenario happened to a politician you agree with, you wouldn't be defending it and saying it wasn't racist and people were over-reacting.  If you can't do that, then stop playing the same "racist" card that has been played on us for the past four years.

Is VP Biden a gaffe machine?  Oh, yes.  He is not the smartest tool in the shed, that is for sure.  He also has a habit of changing his dialect up a little bit depending on the crowd he is front of.  Which is offensive.  But there is no proof that VP Biden is a racist and that this comment was nothing more than metaphor of a theme that the right has been using for the past two years, of unshackling the private sector.  Could he have used a different word than chain?  Yea maybe.  But why should he have?  At some point we have to get beyond this nonsense and stop equating everything to race and slavery.

Take it away Joe:


Monday, August 13, 2012

Vice President Biden Tells Us The Democrats Don't Value Anything


Today, the brain trust that is Vice President Biden said that his father told him this:
"Don't tell me what you value, show me your budget, and I will tell you what you value"
It has been something like 1195 days since they last passed a budget.  My math may be a little off, I found a number from last summer and added the days to today as best as I could.

Obviously they don't value anything.

Apparently no one on the Obama campaign bothered to find out what he was going to say.

What a twit.

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Quote of the Day - VP Biden Edition

"the Giants are on their way to the Super Bowl," 


VP Biden speaking at fundraising event in San Francisco.   


For those that are not following the NFL the San Francisco 49's are playing the New York Giants on Sunday for a place in the Superbowl.  


The San Francisco Giants are a baseball team.  

Friday, September 2, 2011

Hope & Change Joe Biden Style

"..exactly what the Recover act is all about."

So said Vice President Biden on Solyndra getting a half billion dollars in tax payer money for "clean energy" jobs. The promise made by President Obama and friends was that this company would create 4,000 new jobs.



Fast forward 15 months and Solyndra has filed for bankruptcy. Not only will no new jobs be created, the tax payers will not get the more than $500 million we put into the company.


A company that had a record of "recurring loses from operations, negative cash flows since inception" PricewaterhouseCoopers goes further after the audit and says "raises substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern".


But, hey lets give them a half billion in tax payer money, they just might make a go of it, after all it is hope and change right? The fact that the GAO has come to the conclusion that the Obama administration has put forward a proper review process is besides the point. GAO analyst Frankin Rusco said:


It makes the agency more susceptible to outside pressures, potentially.
 I guess the $140K that Solyndra used for lobbyists paid off for them in the short term.........the fact that the taxpayers are left on the hook is neither here nor there.


Friday, July 23, 2010

Quote of the Day

“Barack and I are realists, Government is not the answer. But we also know we can plant seeds. These seeds that have been planted have generated whole new industries.”

Vice President Joe Biden

What new industries are those Joe? 



Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Hey Joe

Vice President Biden today was defending the stimulus plan. Addressing the critics to the stimulus plan he asked what would they do.

Well, since you asked Joe:

I would not spend millions to replace toilets.

Instead of giving GM money, why didn’t we just send a $20,000 voucher to every American family that makes under $75,000 for an American made car? It would have helped the car industry, the car industry vendors and the American people all at the same time and I am sure it would have been cheaper. If GM couldn’t make the company work after that, they go into bankruptcy. Oh wait, they already did that.

Instead of writing into the bailout legislation for AIG that bonuses would be paid out, I would have given that money instead to the agency that gives loans to small businesses. They are on the brink of insolvency. Where is their bailout Joe? The majority of jobs are created by small business.

I would not spend money funding an eco-passage for turtles in Florida.

My question to you Mr. Vice President is why did say that people who were opposed to the stimulus package wanted to do nothing? Why is it all or nothing with you and President Obama?

Instead of understanding the concerns of the American people to the far-left pork buffet, you ask if we would prefer that broken bridges don’t get fixed or police officers get laid off. Why does the government always take away money from education and the like instead of foregoing the spending on skateboard parks? Or even better Joe, what about the money that is going to a field mouse in Speaker Pelosi’s district? We could have done without that spending.

What I would have done Joe? I would have insisted that every member of Congress understand what they were voting on. I also would suggest that the President understand it as well. I would also think that taking your time to do it correctly was more important than doing it quickly. Hey maybe you can use that logic with the healthcare debate.

I would not be spending money on putting farmer’s markets in lower income areas. Buying fruit and vegetables from a Farmer’s market is very expensive. People in lower income areas cannot afford the prices. I would spend the money instead on helping urban areas attract big chain supermarkets. That will drive the prices down in those neighborhoods which will allow them to afford healthier foods.

Joe, I would also admit that spending money on walking and biking trails, while a laudable goal, will do nothing to stimulate the economy.

But that is just me.

Thursday, May 21, 2009

And Sarah Palin was called too stupid to be VP

Vice President Biden recently disclosed where the "undisclosed bunker" that is used during a national emergency is. With the press present no less.
I guess it isn't so undisclosed anymore.
Isn't this a violation of some law? I would think that this is highly classifed information.
To make matters worse, a member of his staff released a statement saying he was talking about a home office that Cheney used to have meetings in, that his wife Jill Biden turned into an additional bedroom.
Which is worse, that he can't tell the difference between a home office and a bunker, or that he talked about the bunker in public?
No wonder they sent him off to the Balkans.
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Google Analytics Alternative